To view this email as a web page, go here.



Dear University of Arizona and UAGC Colleagues,

As you will recall, in August 2020 President Robbins announced the plan to expand our online reach through the formation of a new nonprofit corporation, University of Arizona Global Campus (UAGC). We are writing to share that the founding membership of the Joint Academic Advisory Committee (JAAC) has been established and will shortly start exploring academic partnerships and collaborations that offer mutual benefits for our two universities.

The representatives from the University of Arizona will be:

- Craig Wilson, Vice Provost for Online, Distance and Continuing Education
- Lee Ryan, Dept. Head, Dept. of Psychology
- Catherine Brooks, Director, iSchool
- Yong Liu, Dept. Head, Dept. of Marketing

Note: Lee, Catherine and Yong were all recommended for this role by the UArizona Faculty Senate Executive Committee.

The representatives from UAGC will be:

- Iris Lafferty, Interim Provost and Chief Academic Officer
- Tony Farrell, Interim Dean, College of Arts & Sciences Arts
- Yvonne Lozano, Dept. Chair, Health Sciences
- Maja Zelihic, Dept. Chair, Advanced Management Studies

We are very grateful for the members of this talented team, who have agreed to serve in this capacity to make recommendations to the provosts and presidents of the University of Arizona and UAGC, including on matters such as academic partnerships and areas of potential collaboration between the University and UAGC. We will soon share information on how to connect with the JAAC when you have ideas for consideration.

We add that, during February 2021, an ad hoc committee was convened to address a time-sensitive issue: developing recommendations on measures to improve the retention, progress and completion of online learning for students at UAGC and Arizona Online. The members of that ad hoc group were:

University of Arizona

Carmin Chan, Director, Online Student Success, Arizona Global Cynthia Demetriou, Vice Provost, Student Success and Retention Innovation

Melody Buckner, Associate Vice Provost, Digital Learning and Online Initiatives Larry Head, Professor, Systems and Industrial Engineering Christine Salvesen, Assistant Vice Provost, Student Success & Retention Innovation Celeste Adkins, Instructional Designer, Office of Digital Learning

UAGC

Laura Noone, Professor, Forbes School of Business & Technology Elizabeth Krewson, Professor, College of Arts & Sciences Yvonne Lozano, Chair, Department of Health Bob Daugherty, Dean, Forbes School of Business & Technology Sarah Steinberg, Chief of Staff Katie Scheie, Chief Operating Officer Steve Nettles, AVP, Office of Institutional Effectiveness Iris Lafferty, Interim Provost

We are deeply grateful to the members of this ad hoc team for their expedited work to share best practices between our universities on retention of online students.

Finally, we are pleased to share the news that the IRS has determined that UAGC is tax exempt under IRC Section 501(c)(3).

With warm regards,

Liesl Folks

Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost The University of Arizona

Iris Lafferty

Interim Provost and Chief Academic Officer University of Arizona Global Campus

This email was sent to: faculty and staff.

University of Arizona, 1200 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721 US Copyright ® 2022 The University of Arizona. All rights reserved.